McLaughlin College Fall Election Report 2024

Steven Nguyen, Chief Returning Officer

McLaughlin College Official YUVote Results for Vice President of Events		
Question: Who do you feel would be the best candidate to assume the role of Vice		
President of Events?		
Eligible Voters	3689	
Voted	108	
Candidate's First and Last Name	Number of Votes	
Ashtoinee Campbell	18	
Deven Misir	39	
Evan Han	16	
Inis Tagbor	22	
Abstain	11	
<u>Total</u>	106	

McLaughlin College Official YUVote Results for Vice President of Academics Affairs		
Question: Would you like to see Thaili Fernandez as the Vice President of Academic		
Affairs?		
Eligible Voters	3689	
Voted	108	
Choose 1	Number of Votes	
Yes	65	
No	8	
Abstain	29	
<u>Total</u>	102	

Molecular College Official VI Water Devolte for Director of Communications		
McLaughlin College Official YUVote Results for Director of Communications		
Question: Who do you feel would be the best candidate to assume the role of Director of		
Communications?		
Eligible Voters	3689	
Voted	108	
Candidate's First and Last Name	Number of Votes	
Anvesha Jain	41	
Andrew Fernando	39	

Liam Rutherford	8
Abstain	14
<u>Total</u>	102

McLaughlin College Official YUVote Results for Director of Events and Programming		
Question: Who do you feel would be the best candidate to assume the role of Director of		
Events and Programming?		
Eligible Voters	3689	
Voted	108	
Candidate's First and Last Name	Number of Votes	
Christine Kwong	18	
Gaurav Agarwal	5	
Mahi Patel	17	
Sara Harsini	33	
Sunhera Afsara Shafiq	8	
Tristan Thomas	12	
Abstain	11	
<u>Total</u>	104	

McLaughlin College Official YUVote Results for First-Year Representatives		
Question: Who do you feel would be the best candidate to assume the role of First Year		
Representative? (Please Select 2 Choices)		
Eligible Voters	3689	
Voted	108	
Candidate's First and Last Name	Number of Votes	
Hitesh Kiri	73	
Jaskeerat (Robin) Virdie	77	
Abstain	22	
<u>Total</u>	172	

Duration of the Election Race and Subsequent Breakdown

- September 13, 2024 to October 2, 2024
- Nomination Period: 9am on September 13, 2024 to 12pm on September 20, 2024
- Campaign Period: September 21 September 27, 2024
- Voting Period: 12:00 pm on September 28, 2024 to 11:59 pm on October 2, 2024

Event Timeline

- All Candidates Meeting Friday, September 20, 2024
- Election Debate Friday, September 27, 2024

Means of Communication

- Phone
 - o Text and calls
- Email
- Instagram Dm's and WhatsApp

Election Issues

- There were issues regarding one of the following...
 - a. Prior to the election, the constitution restricted my ability to have the election start early before two weeks of regular school days due to Section 17, subsection A.
 - b. SCLD and Office Head of McLaughlin were not able to promote our fall election through their services and emails.
 - c. The registrar office informed there was a backlog of students trying to switch their college affiliation, which made some candidates unable to vote during the voting period due to late switches.
 - d. The voting period was supposed to be open at 12:00 am midnight on September 28 as originally planned in advance, but was opened at 12:00 pm, which caused some delay in votes.
 - e. The voting link was apparently closed before 11:59 pm on October 2, without any response or confirmation from SCLD on this decision.

My thoughts

 Although I had encountered these issues, they were quite minor, and I was able to get through them. I give huge credits to the election committee composed of my D.R.O. and the President for helping me throughout the election period.

Candidate Issues:

- Not following campaign rules, submitted late posters/speeches past the deadline, college affiliation changes

Policy Changes

- Gave one day extension on the debate speech deadline

Demerit Report

Evan Han

• 3 demerit points were added due to talking about elections in the Mac Office.

Gaurav Agarwal

• 4 demerit points were added due to campaign poster being handed in late.

Sara Harsini

• 7 demerit points were added due to debate speech being handed in late.

Tristan Thomas

• 2 demerit points were added due to reposting of another candidate's poster while running.

Liam Rutherford

• 3 demerit points were added due to being late for all candidates meeting.

Andrew Fernando

• 7 demerit points were added due to debate speech being handed in late.

Recommendations for future CRO and DRO

- 1. Ensure verification of college affiliation is checked during the application period.
- 2. Possibly have the advertising period and nomination period combined into one period together instead of having them in a separate week.
- 3. End the voting period early and have the next day just for the election results and write election report so it would not be crammed on council meeting day.
- 4. Hire a D.R.O to assist with the election, preferably one who has previous experience in running elections.
- 5. Amend some changes in the constitution regarding election timelines and have a detailed description of D.R.O's role and hiring process.

Final Statement

Final Statement and Declaration: I, Steven Nguyen, have satisfied the objectives that have been outlined in the McLaughlin College Constitution and have facilitated a fair, unbiased and just election, to the best of my abilities. The disclosures submitted in this report are accurate and will be available for the allotted time as outlined within the McLaughlin College Constitution. If any section of this report is subjected to verification or point of reference, I can be contacted at mgstevennguyen@gmail.com for future CROs and/or other presiding council members within said time.

I support and recommend the following McLaughlin Community Members to preside on McLaughlin College Student Council for the remainder of the Fall Term of 2024 and the entire Winter Term of 2025. This declaration is made solely on what the candidates have shown me during the election process:

- 1. Deven Misir as Vice President of Events
- 2. Thaili Fernandez as Vice President of Academic Affairs
- 3. Anvesha Jain as Director of Communications
- 4. Sara Harsini as Director of Events and Programming
- 5. Hitesh Kiri as First Year Representatives
- 6. Jaskeerat (Robin) Virdie as First Year Representatives